MAASTO Taps KDOT Secretary to Lead Transportation Group

AASHTO Journal, 8 August 2014

The Mid America Association of State Transportation Officials (MAASTO) last week during its annual meeting in Indianapolis elected Kansas Transportation Secretary Mike King as its next president.

MAASTO is a consortium of Midwestern states whose goal is “to foster the development, operation and maintenance of an integrated and balanced transportation system that adequately serves the transportation needs of the 10 member states.”

Secretary King said in a statement that his focus during his one-year term will be the seamless, state-to-state movement of freight in the region.

In addition to Kansas, MAASTO states include Minnesota, Wisconsin, Michigan, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, Missouri and Kentucky.

Earlier this summer, the Northeast Association of State Transportation Officials elected Delaware Department of Transportation Director Shailen Bhatt as its president and the Western Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials picked California Department of Transportation Director Malcolm Dougherty as its next president.

This entry was posted in General News, Legislative / Political, News. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.